Final Merging: An Overview of Samadhi


In this lesson, you will learn about Patanjali’s eight and limb of yoga called SAMADHI, which is the ultimate meditative stage where you achieve peace, bliss, and union.


Video Commentary: Merging (Samadhi)

Video Transcript


Samadhi – merging.

The eighth and final limb of Patanjali’s ashtanga yoga is samadhi. In this final stage of deep meditation, the ego mind too dissolves and the meditator totally merges with the object of concentration, which is usually God or the Self as an expression of the Divine.

To summarize, the eight limbs of yoga, as described by Patanjali, is a system for refining and developing the body and the mind. The first four limbs – yama, niyama, asana, and pranayama – serve to prepare the body and the mind for the deep meditative work involved in the final four limbs – pratyahara, dharana, dyana, and samadhi.

The purpose of the eight limbs of yoga is to enable a person to develop their body-mind as a whole system, ultimately achieving peace, bliss, and union.

Take Another Course…

What do you think?


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This